High Speed Motorsports


Untitled Document









Captures 2019 Top Fuel Title

9th High Speed Team Win in The Events 17 Year History


For the second year in a row Mendy Fry wins Top Fuel at the Holley National Hot Rod Reunion in the High Speed Motorsports AA/Fuel dragster. And for the second year in a row her opponent was Jim Young. And for the second year in a row it was a close, exciting final round. Fry took it with 5.56 ET at 259 MPH while Young was right there with a 5.65 ET at 262 MPH.

High Speed Motorsports consistently has the largest team at each and every race, no matter where they are. Once again Tom Shelar and his fifth different driver to win the NHRR, Mendy Fry whooped it up with a few of this day's clan for the 8th time in the Bowling Green Winners Circle.




Bowling Green, KY 06.17.2019: When Tom & Rick Shelar leave Anaheim, CA for Bowling Green, KY with the dragster in tow, they know its not a fools mission. When it comes to the Holley National Hot Rod Reunion at Beech Bend Dragway, they own the Top Fuel title. Team High Speed Motorsports has now been victorious for the 9th time, using 5 different drivers over the events 17 year history.

The 2019 NHRA Holley National Hot Rod Reunion presented by AAA Insurance roared to life with an action packed Thursday featuring classic cars, nostalgic quarter-mile drag racing, and legends of the sport at Beech Bend Raceway Park. The three-day event paid tribute to the love affair America has with the car culture and celebrates the passion of the owners and their machines.

"It was a very successful event for racers and fans alike," said Larry Fisher, executive director of the NHRA Motorsports Museum. "We couldn't have asked for better weather. It was a picture-perfect backdrop for hundreds of beautiful hot rods and super-fast race cars." Adding to Fisher's remarks, the NHRR is notorious for its hot, humid and often rainy weather. For the first time in memory this weekend was described by all as nice, comfortable and of course, unusual.

Racing action ignited the senses as drivers in 16 different categories raced side-by-side for two days of qualifying leading to Saturday eliminations.

In Nostalgia Top Fuel, Mendy Fry, current world champion and top qualifier for the event, powered to victory in her High Speed Motorsports dragster with a pass of 5.561 at 259.21. It was a side-by-side battle all the way down the track in the final round as Fry defeated Jim Young's run of 5.651 at 262.28. She landed in the final round after turning on the win light against Jerry Hangey and Tyler Hilton earlier in the day.

So fans, on behalf of High Speed Motorsports, we hope you enjoy this in-depth coverage.





The first pair out to test the waters were Californians. Current Top Fuel world champion Mendy Fry driving the High Speed Motorsports car and 2019 March Meet winner Adam Sorokin in the Champion Speed Shop SBC car.










Owner/tuner Tom Shelar did his final tweaks and waited for the signal from Bob McLennan to let his driver stage.










Fry served notice that the High Speed car came to play.







For whatever reason the powers to be added an impromptu 2nd Thursday night nitro qualifying session that Shelar decided to sit out in order to focus on race day conditions he's see in session three on Saturday.


Very old friends, both champions, Sean Bellemeur helps Fry suit-up.



After missing the March Meet for personal reasons, the team was ecstatic to have car chief Rick Shelar back doing what he does best, making sure things are done right.


Donnie Ho and Kyle Winfield flanking the car, doing their thing.



Fry who was sitting on the pole and Julius Hughes who was holding down the bump spot were the third pair of the session.



















Shelar went for a 5.4 and the track wasn't there. Fry went into tire shake, slapped it and shut off.











Sean Bellemeur strapping Mendy in prior to her Q4 match with Tyler Hilton.






































And there you are. BOOM. 5.546 at 242.28 raised the bar even further with a 5.546 at 242.28. Hilton stayed #5 with his earlier 6.003.




Top Fuel Qualifying Final Order

1 - Mendy Fry, 5.546 242.28
2 - Jim Young, 5.689 257.33
3 - Jim Murphy, 5.733 246.66
4 - Adam Sorokin, 5.776 207.18
5 - Tyler Hilton, 6.003 245.58
6 - Joey Haas, 6.028 225.48
7 - Tim Cullinan, 6.217 147.39
8 - Julius Hughes, 6.226 247.61
------------ Not Qualified ------------
9 - Jerry Hangey, 6.314 221.23
10 - Roger Lechtenberg, 8.189 101.60
11 - Brendan Murry, 9.793 123.27



Page Two - Saturday Eliminations



Untitled Document









Untitled Document


 2020 Schedule

 Photos - Race Results


 The Team

 Race Videos

 Dragster Stats



 HSMS Cover



HighSpeedMotorsports.com is a HSM Inc. Web Property
Copyright 2004- - 2020

Return to Top